All Topics / General Property / Sydney Property Manager

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of Need2SucceedNeed2Succeed
    @need2succeed

Hi all,

Have been talking with REA’s recently, trying to sort out the management of property in lower north shore.

Their charges seem a little high (7-8%) or is it me ?
    Has anyone got actual property managers for this area ?

Not sure if you require any more info, I am new to the game.

This is currently my PPOR and I will be moving out shortly.

Thanks

Profile photo of NEWGENNEWGEN
    Participant
    @newgen
    Originally posted by Need2Succeed:

Their charges seem a little high (7-8%) or is it me ?

I believe 7-8% is the going rate in most states. A good PM is hard to find, unfortunately I don’t know of any that I can recommend in that area. Goodluck in your search [:)]

Profile photo of annaw2annaw2
    Participant
    @annaw2

You are wise to check out different REAs. I also think that is a reasonable rate, but then you might want to negotiate with the one you choose. Be aware of what the managing agent will be doing for you, that is what you are paying them for. Ask about such things as –

-sending you a monthly or mid-month statement (we get a mid-month on one house as the tenant was getting behind)
    -the number of inspections yearly, 3 or 4
    -a report following each inspection (that way you know if eg. paint is peeling or some such thing and you might want to have it attended to)
    -specify how much the agent can spend, if any, on a repair without contacting you. This is on the management agreement. I like to be contacted first so I know what is going on and can give the ok or do the work ourselves, and for ‘doing the figures’.
    -do they review the rent 6-12 months
    -pets allowed or not
    -tenants to mow or do you get a contractor monthly etc.

Anna

Profile photo of JetDollarsJetDollars
    Participant
    @jetdollars

Need2Succeed,

I just wanna say hello and welcome.