Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of bubbles1611bubbles1611
    Participant
    @bubbles1611

Hey,
    I am just starting out in property investment and am looking at a couple of places with a friend in Byron Bay. Just wondering what perople think of teh area from an investment point of view???
    With teh new highway to brisbane taking less than an hour to commute to brisbane, it is not unreasonable to live in byron and work in brisbane???

What do people think? Any help would be greatly appreciated….

Any other areas should be looking?

Thanks heaps

Tim

Profile photo of HousesOnlyHousesOnly
    Participant
    @housesonly

Tim
    Byron Bay has exploded in terms of prices and this makes any form of IP generally very CF -ve (which is not a good thing). Along with this it would seem that prices may have hit their peak and a decent CG in this town may be very hard to achieve in the next 5 years unless you can pick up a property at well below market value somehow!

Profile photo of thefirstbrucethefirstbruce
    @thefirstbruce

Tim, if you can get from Brisbane CBD to Byron in an hour, you are setting all sorts of records.

I spent a lot of time down there at New Years with local friends. You might find more growth opportunity in Bangalow, Mullum, Brunswick Heads, Pottsville, Bogangar, Kingsliff, Ballina, and Yamba.

But all these prices have boomed too. And you’ll get stuff all yield. These are mainly sea change destinations with little employment opportunity for renters.

Bruce
    Mooloolaba, Qld

Profile photo of bluecatbluecat
    Participant
    @bluecat

Hi Tim,

As thefirstbruce says most coastal regions are for retirees or tourists and therefore the rental yeidl would be low – prices have gone up but the rents have not followed as quickly

cheers,
    bluecat

Do today what you want to do tomorrow

Profile photo of sunshinesunshine
    @sunshine