All Topics / General Property / Residential as opposed to commercial

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 23 total)
  • Profile photo of WAFWAF
    @waf

Have just finished searching the forum for info on commercial property and whilst it has been the subject of regular discussion the info dosen’t really answer my questions.

Given the current residential rental situation with the average rental returns around 6% why not go commercial and get 15-25% returns? Commercial properties also usually have longer term tenants. I understand there are a variety of other factors such as 70% finance, but am I missing some other important considerations? I have no experience in this regard but I have noticed that quite a substantial amount of portfolios don’t include commercial properties and I wondered why. Hopefully someone can help me out.

[:)]

Profile photo of MonkeyMagicMonkeyMagic
    @monkeymagic

I think from what I have read, it is harder to get info/research on com prop so most people buy through an agent.

As with anything else higher risk is higher returns. Com prop is more volitile and can go down in value more so than res prop. If you lose a tenet you could be vancant for longer periods.

Josh

Profile photo of WAFWAF
    @waf

Josh,
    yes I agree, there appears to be slightly more risk. At the moment however, I notice a lot of investors heading rural in pursuit of 10%+ returns. As I see it the Capital Growth on rural would in most cases be similar to capital growth on Commercial only the +CF on commercial is nearly double!!!!!

Profile photo of melbearmelbear
    @melbear

WAF, I think it’s because not as many people understand commercial as residential. We all live in a house/unit so we know what to look for.