All Topics / Help Needed! / Blind leading the blind

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of NikeAirNikeAir
    @nikeair

Hi All,

I’m new to PI. I don’t know how much info you need so I’ll start from the top.
    The wife and I have a unit, we got it when we got married, 3yrs ago. We were of the belief that we would by a new house when we were ready to start a family. That time is now. We don’t have high paying jobs; in fact we seem to be average. Our unit was valued at 220 6mths ago, we used the equity to purchase land and are now building. When we are finished building, the house and land (we assume) will be worth 400. We are going to have to use the equity in the unit to cover some costs and other expenses in the new home. Therefore, I may be left with (at most) 9k in equity, and at worst none.
    With the research I have done I have found the rent I could get would be no more than 220 and no less than 190. Before Xmas we were convinced we would have to let the unit go, to make repayments. I got some books, including Steve’s, on PI just to see what we could do, now I’m not so sure we need to. I’m not the main breadwinner in the house and the wife is not convinced yet. Given that I don’t have much budget, I’m trying to find information on what we can do, without spending money yet. The net has been great.
    I find myself feeling so stupid as I don’t know or cannot see an answer. Insert image of cry for help here! To add to this, we want to have a baby!!
    So in reaching to the stars and asking the gods for help, can anyone give me an idea on how to approach this or what my possible options are. So far I have the two options, hold the unit and get a tenant or two sell the unit.
    Another thing I have found is information on putting the properties in a trust. Why would I want to do that? And how can I do that? Is it too late to do it?