All Topics / Hotch Potch / Real estate commision

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of KiasuKiasu
    @kiasu

Hi,
    I am new to this web site and forum so excuse my ignorance.

I have been approched by an real estate person to sell my property to a developer and had a contract ready for me to sign but also had a contract to appoint him as my real estate agent.

I spoke to the real estate person the other day and I was told it illigal to sign the property contract and not the real estate agreement.

What are my legal obligations to this real estate person. Has anyone else experiensed this ?

Regards
    Rudy

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Well if he introduces the buyer then some people would suggest he gets paid? Perhaps he will negotiate the comission pretty heavily seeing as he has a hot buyer waiting?

If you haven’t signed the agreement then perhaps you can approach the vendor direct?

If you haven’t signed anything then you should have no obligation but I suggest you approach your solicitor with this query.

Good luck,

Simon Macks
    Mortgage Broker
    [email protected]
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of KiasuKiasu
    @kiasu

Thanks Simon,

I think it is as much a moral as a legal issue. As this contract is over 2 years plus I may need someone on my side. Maybe better to push for more money to cover this cost.
    Rudy

quote:

Well if he introduces the buyer then some people would suggest he gets paid? Perhaps he will negotiate the comission pretty heavily seeing as he has a hot buyer waiting?

If you haven’t signed the agreement then perhaps you can approach the vendor direct?

If you haven’t signed anything then you should have no obligation but I suggest you approach your solicitor with this query.