All Topics / General Property / Thoughts on Canberra

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 23 total)
  • Profile photo of akyboyakyboy
    Participant
    @akyboy

G’day,

Being new to investing, I was hoping that you could provide some insights into investing in Canberra.

Are the prices inflated in Canberra?
    Are there areas to avoid in Canberra?
    Are there areas to pursue?

Basically any info (related to investing) would be ideal.

Thanking you! [:D]

akyboy!

Profile photo of dreamergirldreamergirl
    @dreamergirl

Hi Akyboy

A great person to comment on this would be Bill (BillfromOz). But personally, I’d say that prices are over inflated here. I don’t necessarily see them falling but then again I (now) know they have before.

If you want +ve cf then Canberra is not the place to buy. Best I’ve seen wouldn’t break even for several years. But I’m only a rookie, so perhaps I’m missing something.
    Sam

Profile photo of BillfromozBillfromoz
    Participant
    @billfromoz

G’day Akyboy…

Canberra is a good place to purchase a family home and hold…but don’t expect to buy in the last legs of Bull Run and make a quick profit. The time to have invested in Canberra recently was when nobody else was game to…’94/95.
    Family home, you buy when you need to provide long term security for yourself and family.

Are the prices inflated in Canberra?… Very much!
    Are there areas to avoid in Canberra?… All ACT
    Are there areas to pursue? …………Not in ACT

It would not take much research to confirm the above. Canberra is a volatile market and runs to the extremes in Bull and Bear Markets.Even the top suburbs will come off 10%. Others 15% to maybe even 25%… just as it did in 1994/95.
    You have little choice but to wait 2-3 years for Canberra to be a good Investment again.

That will include Qbn and any town within an hour or two of ACT, as that is the market that feeds the others.

Be patient…Hold if owned for a year or more, but don’t buy for investment Today!