All Topics / General Property / Commercial Prop (hotel room)

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of kelvinhkelvinh
    @kelvinh

Does any one have experience with investing in commercial property specifically a hotel unit??

The agents says the hotel group guarentees weekly rental income returning around 8.5% pa… and adjusted yearly by CPI…
    Maintenance, repairs, rates etc are covered…
    Are there any costs that i will need to cover ??insurance home/content?? Management fees??

Is there anything else that should be considered…

Im very new to property and know even less about commercial property so any help would be appreciated…

Thanks

Kelvin

Profile photo of C2C2
    Participant
    @c2

Hi kelvinh, I will assume your talking about service apartments. As with everything there are some good ones and bad ones. SA’s are generally not as easy to resell as houses and units. My bank manager advised me that it is difficult to establish the equity, thus difficult to borrow against. If it is + cash flow then that will count towards serviceabilty of future borrowings. I dont know if this was his opinion only or a general concept amongst lenders. If you plan on keeping long term and it’s + cash flow then it should be okay. Are there any bank guarantees in place about rental returns or rachet clauses and how long is the service lease for? Some of these even offer to let you stay for free for a limited time each year as an inducement to investors. There can be management costs or the developer may offer secretarial services for a fee generally less than body corporates, but this is case by case.

C2

“Is it true the more you owe the more you grow until the bank steps in?”

Profile photo of kelvinhkelvinh
    @kelvinh

C2

Thanks for your reply… yes talking about serviced apartment…
    I is +ve, and from a quick calculation will be till interest rates to about 8.0% which gives me a good buffer…