All Topics / Hotch Potch / Unrealistic prices

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of dennisdennis
    @dennis

I am a builder and am constantlly looking for opportunities to spec small developments.
    I have found that in the last 6 months vendors expectations for sites have gone sky high.
    I have looked in country areas having a good rental demand hoping to on-sell as an investment, but the prices here are also unrealistic.
    It seems that small development sites (up to 4 units) are priced beyond their development value. Anybody doing their homework would not consider them at the prices asked (and in some instances obtained). It seems to me that these prices are purely speculative and rely on ongoing appreciation.
    The last time I saw this to this extent was in the early 90’s.
    Is there a lesson to be learned?

Profile photo of xyzzyxyzzy
    Participant
    @xyzzy

Roughly speaking what would it cost to do say a 4 unit development. 2 bedder type aimed at the older folk. How much land would you need? Would 1000 sq meters do?

If you want to reply off line floral[at]tpg[dot]com[dot]au

Profile photo of BillfromozBillfromoz
    Participant
    @billfromoz

G’day Dennis…

I sure agree with your observation.

Naturally others won’t and that’s what makes a market doesn’t it?

I can only comment on the Canberra market at that time… it tanked in September ’94. With prices falling 25%.

Where abouts are you?

Billfromoz

Profile photo of dennisdennis
    @dennis

Hi Bill,
    I’m in Sydney but have looked extensively throughout the state.
    Xyzzy,
    Your question does not have a simple answer. The quality of the improvements, and consequently the cost, depends on the market at which you are aiming. the land size will depend on local guidelines.
    Regards to both of you.

Profile photo of BillfromozBillfromoz
    Participant
    @billfromoz

G’day Dennis…