All Topics / General Property / average beginner

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of nathan210nathan210
    Participant
    @nathan210

Hi everyone my name is nathan. I am new at property investing & am very keen. I have read various property investing books ( incl. rich dad poor dad, 0 to 130 properties etc..) but am still having no luck in locating my first property to acquire. I have been looking mainly in local papers & also quite extensively on the internet ( that covers all states in aust.)To be honest, I am in the “have no deposit but willing guarantor” basket & would gladly accept any feedback on this type of property investing, good or bad! I would appreciate any advice or help in regards to successfully acquiring my first +ve cash flow property & starting my way to financial freedom. Thanks heaps, nathan [:)]

Profile photo of jezjez
    @jez

The first real step is to get out on the ground. Have you read Dolf de Roo’s book “Real Estate Riches”? He has a nice little ratio, as follows, to show that real estate is a numbers game:

100:10:3:1

Basically it means that you look at 100 houses (I’d say you’d want to look at 90% of them in person, not over the net), of those you may make 10 offers, of which 3 offers will be accepted and one offer you’ll be able to obtain finance for.

Of course there are no hard and fast rules, but generally if all your offers are being accepted then maybe you are offering too much (but if it’s positive geared and you’re getting a nice income that may not be too much to worry about). On the other hand, if you’re lucky enough to get finance for all 3 offers that have been accepted then you’re laughing! [8D]

Conclusion: Just keep in mind that you may have to look at over 100 houses before you are able to find just one property that you can buy.

Jeremy Lunn
    Melbourne

Profile photo of nathan210nathan210
    Participant
    @nathan210

quote: