All Topics / Hotch Potch / Buying a ‘Mortgage Choice’ franchise

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of PotsiePotsie
    @potsie

Hi,

I have noticed that a few posters on this forum are Mortgage Brokers by profession.
    Recently, I have been looking into buying a “Mortgage Choice” franchise to become a broker (I am originally from the IT industry) and have some general questions.

– Well firstly, has anyone heard any good/bad things about Mortgage Choice as a company or franchise?

– To the Mortgage Brokers here, why do you enjoy or hate your work?

– With the property market on the decline, is there still a decent market out. Especially for someone with no experience and is starting out.
    As a comment, the mortgage broker market must have been very difficult during the early 1990s when IR were at 17%.

– Brokers work as I understand mainly evenings and weekends due to your clients having 9-5 Mon-Fri jobs.

– Can someone give me an average monthly income. I am aware that it depends on the loan amount at the end of month. Person I spoke to at Mortgage Choice quoted me (after a year of operation) atleast 1.5M loan amount per month, which can give a monthly income of 6,000 per month.
    I just find this alittle hard to believe. 1.5M per month sounds quite alot for a monthly target.

– And what makes a good mortgage broker, what characteristics and personality do you need.

I may have some more questions in the near future.

Thanks for any responses.

Mark.

Profile photo of wilandelwilandel
    @wilandel

Welcome Potsie,

I’m not a Mortgage Broker, but I think that many of them are feeling lots of stress from being overworked, frustration, anger, and even suffering from sleepless nights (well that’s the ones that care).

The bank’s seem to be impossible to deal with lately, with loans taking MUCH LONGER to be approved & settle.

They are “beating their heads against a brick wall”, and to me no money in the world is worth that.