All Topics / Hotch Potch / Protection from Interest Rates and New Comer Intro

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of MarvinMarvin
    Participant
    @marvin

Hello all,

before I pop my question, I’d just like to introduce myself.

My name is Marvin. I’m a sushi chef in a place call Toowoomba, QLD. I’m 25 and already in a mid-life crisis. I don’t want to work my whole life and have been gathering up books to read on financial independance. I’m not looking for a short cut, just don’t want to be stuck in the rat race. Willing to work hard to learn how to become an invester through other ppl’s experiences first, and eventually my own.

My girlfriend came upon Steve’s Book (Hello Steve) “0 – 130” and bought it for me coz she knew I was trying to educate myself on property investment. And I loved it! I’m already 1/2 way through it in a couple of days.

I hope to learn from all of you more experienced investors. As I am a green horn, I’d like to ask if there are any good threads I should read on the forums for the new comers. Thanks in advance.

Now my question.

How can we protect our +ve gearing properties from a rising interest rate? I saw on page 145 (o-130) that the interest rate once reached 17%. That’s incredible. Then I went back to Steve’s first example on his +ve gearing purchase and calculated how the IR (Interest Rate) would affect it. And with a 2.5% rise, it would neutralize the +ve gearing.

That’s a bit close for comfort considering how erratic the IR on Pg 145 is. I looks like its going down, but I’m assuming that its going to go up soon due to Aus’s big spending/boom recently, inflations, election and the goverment is going to have to increase it.

Correct me if some of my assumtions are downright wrong, I am very new. Going from Chef to properties isn’t exactly a walk in the meadows.

Hope someone can clear me up on this. Thanks. And very nice to meet you all.