All Topics / Hotch Potch / Should I invest with my company or in my persname?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of Agent007Agent007
    Participant
    @agent007

Hi,

Here’s for my first thread…..

My wife told me this very morning to get off my a**s and go and buy property. She’s getting sick off me always studying shares, propety, business etc. and wants me to take action from today.

So…. I have to get my system & team together.

Firstly, I am a sub-contracted New Homes Consultant for a major project builder in Adelaide. I have a company (Pty. Ltd.) which I do my new home sales & internet business through.

My property investment strategy is to purchase as many +ve cashflow properties from today onwards, until we reach our personal goals.

QUESTION: Should I start investing using my existing company structure? Start a new company just for property? Or just invest in my (or me & my wife’s names)?

BTW my only company debt is about $19,000 left on the loan for my company car, and a grand or due on our personal credit cards. Our PPOR is 100% freehold.

Any accountants out there?

Thanks a lot for any help.

Cheers,

David Paxton
    New Homes Consultant
    Sterling Homes
    0412 853 395

Profile photo of MelanieMelanie
    @melanie

Hi David, welcome aboard! [:D]

I’m a mortgage broker not an accountant, but from what I’ve learnt, if you guys are serious about buying many many properties I’d probably recommend setting up a discretionary trust with your co. as trustee and buying all new property in the name of the trust. You would sign for the loans as director of the trustee company but assets are protected and long term many tax benefits as well.