All Topics / General Property / Units – How do they stack up?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of ManosManos
    @manos

I am new at this so I thought I would write to you all for your feed back.

Their was a 1 bed * 1 bathroom unit approx 60sqm selling for $62000 and renting out at $115 per week. The strata fees were around $600 per year. The unit is located in the costal centre of town on the main strip. The town is a popular holiday area with a lot of canal development around it and lot of retires living their. On school holidays the units get rented out at $600 per week.

I have been told by the real estate agent that several more of these units will be available soon.

I passed on this unit as was unsure and I suppose nervous of the idea purchasing a investment property rather than buying to live.

My family keep convincing me that it would be a silly thing to do, because their are too many units or apartments and they are worth less.

Would you consider this unit a good buy?

I could have bought the property outright and still have money left over. Do you think paying just the deposit would be better?

Are units worth investing in compare to free standing houses?

Signed – Confused[?]

Profile photo of wannabe2wannabe2
    @wannabe2

[:D] hi ,will it make you a profit? personally i dont own units but would consider buying them if the right deal came along,but a 1 bedroom i’m not too keen on[;)]

Profile photo of ANUBISANUBIS
    Participant
    @anubis

Personally I stick to houses as all the value is in the land. Value of the dwelling goes down over time, value of the land increases (theoretically).

I definitely don’t do holiday rentals – house or unit. Too many variables, too many extra costs, too much of a niche investment if I ever wish to sell.

Profile photo of Johnny1Johnny1
    @johnny1