All Topics / The Treasure Chest / What would you do in our position?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of Karl and RitaKarl and Rita
    @karl-and-rita

Hi, this is my first time here, I’ve just purchased Steve’s book and I thought I might post a question.

My fiance and I are just into the final steps of buying our first house. It belongs to my father and although the Real Estate agent said he could get about $129,000 for it, he’s selling it to us for $93,000. We have just over 20% deposit(including 1st home owners grant) and are thinking of using the equity to buy an investment house by the end of the year.

My questions is this…[:P]

Is this a good idea? Are there any better alternatives available to us? The property market where we live is hot and we’re hungry for this.

Thanks

Profile photo of RonulasRonulas
    @ronulas

Since no one else has responded I’ll give you my 2c worth.

What your asking is not realy our place to answer. There are risks involved with IP investing. It realy comes down to how much homework you have done and your financial position. The equity is great but a bank will want to know if you can service a loan or not.

On a more personal note I would recomend settling into your new home first and after six months or so take the leap and invest. Buying a house and moving in can be very stressfull for a couple starting out. Don’t take on too much to quick. PI investing is not going anywhere so take your time.

It’s great to hear that your hungry to get into property. Keep that flame burning by reading this forum and learning as much as you can befor you do anything.

Good luck in all your endeavours.

You will always miss 100% of the shots you don’t take!

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

Are you asking if buying a property in a hot area for 72% of the market value is a good idea?