All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Help?? What do I do

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of scooterscooter
    @scooter

Hello, this is my first time to the forum.

I own a two bedroom home which is bringing in more rent than mortgae repyaments. But my question is, what do I do with that ‘extra’ money. Do I put it in as extra money to the mortgage repayments, or just use it to spend??
    Any advice here would be great,

Thanks

George.

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

It’s your money…

What are your plans? I think that in this forum you should expect to be advised to save it towards your next property.

Do you have a home? If you have a homeloan then putting it into an offset against it is a good idea.

Best of luck,

Simon

Simon Macks
    Mortgage Hunter
    [email protected]
    0425 228 985

Profile photo of westanwestan
    @westan

Hi George

i’d advise you to work for you lifestyle but build your property potfolio as your wealth. Any profit either pays off the loan or gets reinvested in another property or shares etc. If you start spending your prodits you will be working till your 60+, but having a higher standard of living. i’d rather delay the temptation and build for the long term but its all a personal choice. You Need a plan !
    regards westan

Profile photo of ArtyArty
    Participant
    @arty

Id agree with Westan. In Steves book he shows what he does with the surplus, but there are many options…(from memory) he splits the surplus into 3, the first 3rd goes back into the Investment to keep the tenants happy, and to add to the value of the property. The second 3rd is used for Investing in the Sharemarket. The third 3rd is used for new Investment Properties.
    You could always divide it into 4 parts and use one for personal enjoyment/spending.

Just a thought..

[:D]

Regards,
    Arty.

[:)]
    “Why work to the age where you cant enjoy