Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of steven.fergusonsteven.ferguson
    @steven.ferguson

Hello all,

Just bought my first investment property at the Gold Coast (Arundel). I’m from Sydney and thus have had no physical contact with the Gold Coast market, hence I’ve bought soleley on statistical evidence of good growth in recent times.

Can anyone out there with a more intimate knowledge of the GC market share their thoughts on the state of the market??

Thanks

Profile photo of Lawry73Lawry73
    @lawry73

What sort of evidence have you got about Gold Coast?
    Specify your purchase s the readers here can have a go at crunching numbers for you.

Profile photo of HousesOnlyHousesOnly
    Participant
    @housesonly

Steve
    I am not a GC expert but have been researching that market for a while with a view to entering it. It appears that there are very few IP’s to be had in the GC proper (not hinterland) that do not require a massive neg. gear and hence subsidisation each month. Price growth has been excellent in the past but this is true for almost every postcode in Aus. The one piece of info that is very notable about the GC market is that many investors do not get given real or accurate vacancy rates and the sales pitch is thus based on lower vacancy rates than actually eventuate. For blocks which focused on short term letting (tourism), management fees and ongoing expenses in relation to maintaining, cleaning, letting etc are all often understated before the sale. These factors make it extremely difficult to make these properties viable even aften depreciation and other tax deductions unless there is a capital gain of some reasonable magnitude. I would say that unless the property has some star quality such as absolute water frontage and/or is available at a great price then the capital growth possibilities are limited in the next 2-4 years. Over the longer term (which most investors are in for) there is very likely to be growth in the