All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Depreciation – Is he right?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of rosspjrosspj
    @rosspj

This is my first foray into the forum, after reading Steve’s book recently. About the only piece of advice I could’nt agree with is in regards to depreciation. Admittedly Steve only really touched on the subject, however I have a fair degree of experience in this field, owning a number of unit complexes, which in fact are positively geared and allow me the time to pen this, rather than working for a living.
    Essentially, Steve advocates not claiming the depreciation, as you ultimately have to pay it in Capital Gains Tax. However, if you are in the fortunate position of paying 48.5% tax and own an investment property (or 130), you may be doing yourself a disservice by not claiming the depreciation against your income tax.
    For example, if you installed a new light fitting, costing $100, you can claim this as a 100% deduction in that year saving you $48.50 in tax, (and if you used borrowed money to do it costs you only the principal, as the interest is a tax deduction as well…but that is a whole new conversation)
    However, if you did not claim that against your income tax, and paid it in C.G.T instead, when you sell, the tax benefit of installing that light fitting is now only $24.50, because of the 50% deduction rule for C.G.T.
    I guess its boring stuff, but when your depreciation schedule runs into the tens and hundreds of thousands, you can minimise your tax quite effectively, when your income is in the higher tax brackets.
    Does anyone agree, disagree or have I put you to sleep?

Profile photo of RodCRodC
    @rodc

This topic has been touched on a few times here. I find your explananation a little difficult to follow but I think I agree with you.