All Topics / The Treasure Chest / How should I start and expand?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of MikeTheBikeMikeTheBike
    @mikethebike

Hi All & Steve McKnight,

In about 6 weeks I’ll receive at least $65,000 from an accident compensation claim. I have over $17,000 in my Investment loan offset account and owe $88,343 on the loan for a property in the Eungella ranges which was purchased for $125,000 in 2000. Payments are $717.87 per month.
    http://users.tpg.com.au/mh1283/escape.html

Finding work has been sketchy over the last couple of years. I’m a Database Developer. Almost finished a contract and don’t know yet where I’ll get my next job or contract.

I’ll be putting the compenstion into my offset account but want to use some of it to start my path to financial freedom.

Should I start with 1 or 2 properties? How can I keep expanding if I can’t find work for a while? How will any future claim for the dole be affected? Should I sell my Rainforest retreat if it is has made a good capital gain?

I look forward to your comments and advice.

Regards Michael Holberton

Profile photo of golfergolfer
    @golfer

Dear Mike

Rather than put all your eggs in one basked why dont you consider wrapping cheaper properties which will give you a higher return over the long term. Whilst im not a representative for the Qld Tourist Board the State has many areas which are lower priced. You could use a Lodoc loan to obtain finance to fund the first few purchases and use the positive cash flow to live on or discharge the loan balance to create increased cash flow long term. If you need any more infomation feel free to shot me an email [email protected]

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

I agree with Golfer. You should be eligible for a low doc loan as you are self employed.