All Topics / The Treasure Chest / positive geared SHARES

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 36 total)
  • Profile photo of crashycrashy
    Participant
    @crashy

I have been a full time share trader for 5 years. Also hold Diploma of Finance and Diploma of Financial Advising.

I have always wondered if property strategies could be used the same way in the sharemarket. Shares have no stamp duty, no agents fees, no long settlements, and more. You cant sell off a bedroom when you need money, but you can sell a few shares.

I have a broker who will lend me UNLIMITED funds at 95% LVR. The interest rate is 5.75%. There are some shares that pay a dividend yield of more than 7%.

Invest $5,000
    Loan $95,000
    Total $100,000
    interest -$5,750
    dividends +$7,000
    profit $1,250 or 25%

This return can further be improved by writing call options on the stock, which will add $25,000. This will require more funding though, but a realistic return is 40% all things considered. Then theres likely capital growth on top. Another advantage is that equity is unlocked in real-time. You dont have to apply for a new loan.

Possible problems:

– stock falls sharply. unlikely when div yield is very high. diversifying will solve this problem.
    – interest rates rise. at some point it will become uneconomical to continue. no different to property.
    – dividends paid every 6 months, not weekly. buying prior to a dividend means you get a 6 month head start, otherwise you have a shortfall.

Not trying to convert anyone away from property, just saying positive gearing can also be done with shares.

Profile photo of ksheatherksheather
    @ksheather

So let me get this right, you have a broker that will lend to you to purchase shares at %95 LVR? Thats strange because most margin facilities will only lend up to %70 LVR.