All Topics / The Treasure Chest / is the market going to burst?

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Profile photo of marcellmarcell
    @marcell

hi everybody,
    I’m new to site and so far i have found the site to be really, really helpful.
    I was wondering what is the housing market going to be in the say next 6-12 months.I have been reading and hearing in the press that the property market will burst?what are your views?
    Is it a good time to buy now? or wait a little and see if the house prices drop.
    and one more thing, now my mum has been on my back for some time now trying to convince me to buy a house, the only problem is, I am at the moment a student.I have around $50,000 saved, which i know is peanuts, but i was wondering if any financial institution will give me loan for a house, taking into considerating that I am not working.
    Much obliged for any input.

Profile photo of maximusmaximus
    @maximus

Hi ya Marcell and welcome, stick around and you will learn a lot more, like the rest of us do. As far as the property market “bursting”, who knows. These so called experts are having a stab in the dark. I dont think they would have predicted 2-3 years ago that the market (especially in Syd and Bris) would have done as well as it has. Your $50,000 is a fantastic effort and is not peanuts. Not exactly sure (but someone on this forum will be) but depending on how much you want to purchase an I/P for, I would have thought that you could get a loan as long as you can prove that rent will repay loan commitments. Probably good idea to speak to a mortgage broker or as I said, someone here will help you, they’re a great bunch.
    Regards
    Marty

Profile photo of Elysium-MElysium-M
    @elysium-m

Hi guys,

I think that the experts have a reasonably good idea of what’s going to happen, but not when. It’s the same with the property boom in the 90’s. It’s the same with every stockmarket boom.