All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Capital Growth & Rent Growth Correlations

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of hwd007hwd007
    @hwd007

Capital Growth & Rent Growth Correlations

Is there a strong correlation if any, between the rate of capital growth and the rate of rental yield growth for an area ?

i.e if capital growth is at 10% does this mean that rent will command a 10% greater value for that area ?

I know there may be a lag effect between CG and rent growth but to what degree would the correlation between growth rates be ?

Thanks.

Profile photo of BluegirlBluegirl
    Participant
    @bluegirl

I would like to know where to get capital growth and the like figures? Any idea’s would be welcomed! I am very new to this IP game, just bought my first.[:D]

Profile photo of crashycrashy
    Participant
    @crashy

Logic would say they are inversely related. When everyone wants to buy, nobody wants to rent, so rent prices fall. Vice versa when nobody wants to buy.

Then again in places where growth is slow & steady, rents should rise in line with growth.

Profile photo of westanwestan
    @westan

hi guy’s

for data on capital growth try Australain Property investor Magazine. available at most newsagents or try http://www.apimagazine.com.au.
    Hwd007
    i’ve never seen any data on what you are after. But my experience in Victoria and SA is there is no link between capital growth. i can think of some areas that have appreciated by 50-100% in the last 12 months and the rent hasn’t altered. And other areas that have gone up only 20% and the rent has gone up 15%. Thats just what i have observed.
    regards westan

Profile photo of hwd007hwd007
    @hwd007

Personally I think there is a correlation, but the question is to what degree. Try to rent in a good area against a bad area and you will find the property values in the good area are more, as is the rent.