All Topics / The Treasure Chest / On the Outside Looking In

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of EvelynEvelyn
    @evelyn

Hi everyone, I am in a position where I need to clear debts, save a deposit & then realistically look at purchasing my first property hopefully in Victoria. Bit of a late bloomer I know. I have only just begun to look at my options which are either putting a deposit on a off the plan property or striking a deal with a vendor. My question is what do you think is best for me? I am prepared to do research on different developers with off the plan properties, but where do I start with finding out about vendors who are wrapping in Victoria? I am very new to this and would appreciate any comments. [8)]

Profile photo of LeighLeigh
    @leigh

Hi Evelyn,

You’ve taken the first step in identifying that property investing is a great opportunity. You now need to sit down and work backwards. What I mean by this is first set some goals, work out what you ‘want’ out of investing (is it a weekly income, to build wealth for future retirement..) and most importantly put a timeline to all of this. You then need to take an honest look at your current financial position and outside commitments. From this point, bring everything together and look into some investing strategies that will allow you to achieve what you want.

Without knowing your level of debt, income etc. I would suggest that off-the-plan buying would probably not be a wise way of starting out. This is considered ‘speculative’ investing in that you’re hoping the returns will eventuate. You may wish to look towards buying property for cashflow returns to begin with to assist in paying off your current debt and providing a solid base to build on.

Hope I’ve helped, Leigh

“If you can count your money, you don’t have a billion dollars”
    J. Paul Getty

Profile photo of wilandelwilandel
    @wilandel

Hello Evelyn,