All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Tax Strategies – your comments please

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of hwd007hwd007
    @hwd007

OK I first will say that I am a newbie to property, so forgive my ignorance.

I’m thinking of doing this 15-15 tax variation thing. But intend to understate my expected rent for well mainly a safe margin for error, but also tax effectiveness. Perfectly legal of course. Say If estimate my rent as $100 / week for my 15-15 application and say I end up getting $150 per week over 12 months.

Now at the end of the financial year. I would have earned 52 times $50 being $2600 in extra income. Now if my net income is greater than estimated I’m told the Tax Office will fine you.

Thus, my strategy is to spend $2600 in amounts under $1000 a time say in the last month before the end of the financial year, to neutralize the effect of my income. Say I spend it on repairs etc.. or a depreciable item such as an air conditioner etc..

Now this way I see it as getting a bigger rebate from the tax office during the course of the year and then also using that extra rebate to go to a fund to spend on the unit for repairs near the end of the financial year.

Now tell me what you think of this idea ?

Profile photo of hwd007hwd007
    @hwd007

A Penny for your thoughts :/

@hwd007

sorry I didn’t hear that ! say again.

Profile photo of SaskatoonSaskatoon
    Participant
    @saskatoon

Hi hwd007.
    Who told you that the ATO will fine you?
    Why don’t check with th ATO directly – phone or use their website. Besides I believe that your 15-15 variation can be varied :-) during the year.
    Terry

Terence McMahon
    HomeWin
    Finance

Profile photo of MJKMJK
    @mjk

Sounds way too complicated. In the end the 15-15 doesnt mean anything its your tax return that you will be assessed on. The 15-15 is an interim assessment which improves cash flow.

MJK

Profile photo of Stuart WemyssStuart Wemyss
    @stuart-wemyss

Hwd007