All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Property Spotters?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of ksheatherksheather
    @ksheather

Hi everyone, this may be a stupid question and people may have asked it before, but is there such a service that spots good value properties on a commission basis?

I am just starting out and having difficulty spotting good value investments in the market, so I thought the services of such a person could be quite valuable.

Regards,
    Kristoffer Sheather.

Profile photo of brentbrent
    Participant
    @brent

Hi Kristoffer,

Yes, there are bird-doggers out there – people who go out and search for properties, and pass some (or all) of these properties on to other people for a fee. This is often called ‘flipping’, but various regulations and law changes have made it more and more difficult to do.

There is also a type of Real Estate agent which can do this for you. They’re called “Buyers Agents”, and if you tell them what you’re after, they go out and look for it. If they find something which you then go on to buy, you pay them a commission.

However, you need to define what you’re after beforehand. “Good Value Investments” is too broad as a criteria. Are you after something which will appreciate in value soon, and will make a good short term deal? Or are you after long-term capital growth? Is a high rental yield a sign of a good value property?

I would recommend that before you consider any deals, look at your investing plan, and consider what due-diligence needs to be taken in order to ensure you get the best deal out there for you.

I hope this helps.

Brent

Profile photo of ksheatherksheather
    @ksheather

Brent, I agree and I will specify my parameters:

– 2 & 3 bedroom properties only
    – value under 120k
    – regional area with low unemployment level
    – high rental / value ratio