All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Another “newbie” question

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Andrew800Andrew800
    Participant
    @andrew800

Hi all,

just asking for some general comments regarding my situation, I am very new to this and still forming ideas, direction and goals. Although one definite goal is to get my money working better for me.

I am currently renting with wife and three kids and have been told to get out in 60 days [now 50]. Have 30k in hand. We were offered this place around $300k but just out of our league.

I am not interested in buying est. as half the 30k will be gone in stamp duty. I am faced with two options [well maybe three after looking in this forum].

1] buy house and land package new approx $250k – with the market slowing I feel the capital in here will take longer to build up

2] continue renting and search out some local IP’s and start on the road to finacial freedom

3] do a deal with the owner of this house – although I see this working for him better than me

Would like to here from others who may have been in same situations. I am on the Mornington Peninsula renting in Balnarring, with our minds focussed on the Hastings area [this I think is set to go ahead].

Regards
    Andrew[|)]

Profile photo of BDMBDM
    Participant
    @bdm

G’day Andrew,

Bummer about the “eviction notice” – it makes life suddenly a bit complicated…

However, it has obviously got you thinking about the future, so that may well be a blessing in disguise.

Based on the info you have provided, I would suggest a little of option 1 and a little of option 2.

50 days is, in my humble opinion, not really enough time to decide on life goals, move the family to a new residence, investigate suburbs for potential, inspect houses, crunch the numbers ( due diligence ), let alone find the dream home, buy it and settle, etc.