All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Unsure of what to do

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of Mama2MiaMama2Mia
    Participant
    @mama2mia

Hi,

I’m new to this forum, i’m also new at the whole real estate thing. I have a question which i’d like some advice on and i thought you guys would be able to help on [;)]

My partner and i are looking to buy our first home which we will hopefully live in for only a week or 2 before renting it out till we get married and move into it in a couple of years time. From what i understand, we would be eligible for the FHBG so long as we’ve lived in it for any amount of time within the 12months. However, we’re really unsure about how to go about renting it out since we’re applying for the home loan thats based on the fact that the house will be our principle place of residency (i know i’ve probably confused everyone now). As the bank told us that there is a big difference between applying for the home loan for a house in comparison to applying for a home loan for an investment property (apart from the fact that you can get the FHBG with one but not the other).

Does anyone know whether we’d be able to do this (ie. apply for a home loan with the assumption that we’d be living in it and not renting it out but then only end up staying in it for a couple of weeks before renting it out?)

Kim

Profile photo of quasimodoquasimodo
    @quasimodo