All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Where to invest

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of bruceleebrucelee
    Participant
    @brucelee

Hi, I’m young and looking to invest in some property.

I was wondering if anyone on this forum knows a good area to invest in which will increase in value the reasonably quickly, also what factors will increase the properties value.

Another question. House or Unit?

Bruce

Profile photo of walkernickwalkernick
    Participant
    @walkernick

Hi Bruce,

What state are you in? I am a university student in Sydney currently purchasing my first property. I have found that I can only afford to look outside of Sydney and as such am buying near Newcastle. I suggest you buy the Australian Property Investor magazine to compare the growth rates and median prices of various areas, and start taking trips to go look at pleanty of properties there. The only way you really know whether prices will go up in the future is to go study the market yourself. But a few things that will bolster future growth include:

-close to the coast
    -close to current or pending transport links
    -close to large or expanding industrial or commercial areas
    -close to tourism hot-spots such as wineries
    -close to popular retirement destinations
    -in an area where council is undertaking a town beautifical or ‘renewal’ process
    -in an area with above average population growth (check the ABS catalogue 3218.0 for these statistics)

If you would like to have a chat about anything shoot me an email at [email protected]

Cheers
    -Nick Walker

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hi,

There are two focuses you can have in property.

1. On the Property

This means you focus on the property, usually seeking capital gains returns. As such, position becomes very important.

Things that will increase the value are variables that add to perceived or actual value which cause demand > supply.