All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Question on Joint Ventures?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of vluu27vluu27
    @vluu27

Hi All,

I’m a bit new to this so sorry for if this sounds stupid.

A friend of mine owns 5 IP’s all under his and his wifes’ name. I asked him after 5+ properties, wouldn’t the bank stop lending you money due to your restrictions on serviceability of loans, risk of defaulting etc so he might have to start doing JVs or form partnerships with other people to settle more properties?

He said that at his stage, once you own a ‘CERTAIN’ no of properties, the banks dont look at SERVICEABILITY any more, but just equity. So as long as you have 20% equity in any given property, and as long as you dont cross collaterise you can SETTLE as many properties under yours and your spouses name or company trust etc.

Does that sound right to anyone here or is he talking through his bum? [:D]

Your input is much appreciated [:)]

Thanks in advance

Regards

Vinh Luu

Profile photo of OttoDarganOttoDargan
    @ottodargan

Hmmmm. Its rare that a customer (even with 5+ IP) actually knows how the loan is being submitted. Often I have refinanced a loan that was submitted by a different lender that the customer thought was a car loan secured by their car but was infact “Misc investment purposes” secured by their house so that the bank would accept it.
    With this in mind he is probably using Low doc loans. If he signs a declaration stating his income then its definately a Low doc. This is where instead of providing tax returns to show servicability he just signs a declaration. This type of loan is designed for people who are self employed and so avoid as much tax as possible, so their tax returns are not an accurate measure of their income. If he is using these Low doc loans then he can pretty much service any loan on paper as he can claim his income to be whatever he wants.