All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Interest Only vs P&i ??

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 23 total)
  • Profile photo of fulloutfullout
    @fullout

HI,

i am new to property investing. I will be purchasing my first property for renting out within 2 weeks. It’s going to be a positive rental return. I bought it for $83,000, and the weekly rent is $120. I am able to get a 90% ($74700)loan at 6% (if Principle and interest loan).
    If Interest Only Loan, its 6.11%.

So which loan should i go for? If you were me, which will you go for? (i am hoping to buy more proiperties within 1 year.)

Why do i hear so many people say get a Interest Only Loan if its for a investment property, ESPECIALLY IF IT IS POSITIVE CASHFLOW PROP. Why is that?
    (My finance broker told me to go for P&i to build equity so i can get more homeloans in future)

The way i understood it is, with the positive cashflow, we can collect that cashflow to buy more properties.. is that right? One author Anita Bell says she always go for P&i loan and pay extra per month back to reduce the interest and debt. BUt Jan Somers and Brad Sugars says Interest Only is king!

PLs explain to me in terms of the effect on tax return, cashflow and my ability to get more properties.
    THANKS!

fullout

Profile photo of SooshieSooshie
    @sooshie

Hi Fullout,

A little birdy told me that Interest Only loans are illegal. Perhaps check it out as I could have misunderstood.

Cheers
    Sooshie [:)]
    p.s. Good luck with your investments, it’s good to see your doing something. [^]

There are no problems, only solutions

Profile photo of ADAD
    Participant
    @ad

Hey Soosh,
    What do you mean that IO is illegal. I find that very hard to believe as nearly all lenders offer IO loans. IO being illegal would really shake up the market. Could you explain ??

Thanks

Enjoy
    AD [:0)]
    (Andrew)