All Topics / The Treasure Chest / foreclosure properties

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of joanna_2joanna_2
    @joanna_2

Hi,

I have read about buying foreclosure properties in a US book on property investing. As I’m new to all this, can anyone help? Can you tell me where I could find out about similar properties with payments in default in Australia? What is the equivalent term here?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Jo

Profile photo of AdministratorAdministrator
    Keymaster
    @piadmin

Dear All and Jo Anne
    I would be interested to hear more on this subject as well.
    I asked my bank a couple of years ago about this , but the person concerned had not really heard of it or at least (they) did not practice this form of transaction. Any suggestions?
    Can you go to the banks and ask for bankrupt property information and propose to purchase the default amount??
    Cheers Isagold

Profile photo of ADAD
    Participant
    @ad

Hey there,
    Forunately we are not like the USA and the way they have extreme opportunities for investors in the forclosure world. Most backs here have to send their property back through agents for tender and or auction so they can clearly show the individual forclosed on that they obtained the top price….What the market will pay is the best price. I guess it saves their bacon on litigation potential.

Hope it helps,

Enjoy
    AD [:0)]

Success is not the result of sponataneous combustion. You must set yourself on fire.
    Reggie Leach

Profile photo of birdmanbirdman
    Participant
    @birdman

Hi,

The property.com.au website has a search category which is “Mortgagee Auction”, this is the closest I have found for this, but often there is nothing listed here anyway. Some newspaper adds will also indicate that the house has been re-posessed. The other avenue to look at is the Public Trustee. Again, this will typically be an auction as well, but you can find some good deals.

Cheers