All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Property Inspection

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of ArnaldoArnaldo
    Participant
    @arnaldo

First of all, hello to everyone. I am just a newbie to Property Investing although I’ve been educating myself for a long time and procrastinating a lot [:I].
    My question is, who usually do the structural inspection of a property? Is this a must even for new properties?
    Thanks in advance.

Arnaldo

Profile photo of BelladonnaBelladonna
    Participant
    @belladonna

In my experience, it is up to you as the purchaser of the property to make sure it is structurally sound. A formal inspection is not compulsory, however unless you are a builder or such, it is well advised. It’s up to you whether you have one done on a new property… some new properties can be very shoddy workmanship erected very quickly as a friend of mine is now discovering. Fortunately you are covered by the BSA if major structural defects occur within a certain time period after construction (in QLD I think this is 6yrs) but it’s a time consuming process of red tape & beurocracy to file a case with the BSA. Do your background checks on the builder of a new property & ask to see examples of previous (older) work.

Profile photo of IBIB
    @ib

Even though I am an Architect,
    I get a property inspection company
    and a pest inspection company to inspect
    all my properties. Another person can sometimes be more objective.

New finishes can cover a multitude of faults on
    new or old properties.

Many new properties do seem built only to last for
    their guarantee period (7-10 years).

Profile photo of TheBTheB
    @theb

Hi Arnaldo

Welcome to P-I-dot-com [:)]

We now have building and electrical inspecitons done on all of our properties.