All Topics / The Treasure Chest / To buy or not to buy property

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of Dave_4Dave_4
    @dave_4

Hi all,
    I am new to the game and have been a keen believer in the wealth power of property however, with the property cycle in a boom and premium prices being paid for property i am not sure if i should get into property at the moment. My thoughts are reinforced with lots of talk of the cycle ending and the prospect of finding many bargin properties when the downturn occurs. I am interested in what people think if i should bide my time and wait for the down cycle or get in regardless of what cycle the industry is in??

Profile photo of ADAD
    Participant
    @ad

Hey there Dave,
    Welcome.
    I guess you have to feel comfortable buying whatever the cycle. I know I am still comfortable buying, but only when the numbers work. I picked up a house last week for $55K which rents for $120/week. I could resell the house for $65-70K tomorrow but why would you with a cash positive deal. A lot of people are paying top dollar for property and may find their prices being rather stagnant for a while or maybe the market will continue to trundle along. Either way there are still deals out there and they just have to be found. I know I personally ignore most commentators on property as they are merely that, commentators. I look at every deal and see if it justifies it’s own purchase. If that is the case then I might buy it. Reality is deals are in evry stage of the cycle, they are just harder to find in some cycles. Whatever happens don’t end up being like the people who are waiting for the perfect time to buy. There is no such thing but there are opportunies all around us. I hope this helps and most of all enjoy your experiences.

Enjoy
    AD

A great deal of talent is lost to the world for want of a little courage. Every day sends to their graves obscure men whose timidity prevented them from making a first effort.