All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Cashflow Positive, Negatively Geared

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of KevmeisterKevmeister
    @kevmeister

Hello All,

I’m just starting to learn about prop. investment and one of the confusing parts is that there really are so many ways to make money out of real estate (lease options, wraps etc).

But my question comes back to what Steve suggests which is having a property which is cashflow positive from the start.

From terminologies that I have read there seems to a definite distinction between negatively geared and negative cashflow, and therefore a distinction between positived geared and positive cashflow.

There is also the possibly of a negatively geared property providing a positive cashflow, if non-cash deductions like depreciation can be made to exceed cash losses such as the different between rental income and interest (assuming you are on the highest marginal tax rate).

So, just to be pedantic and understand where Steve is coming from, does he really mean having a cashflow positive property or a positively geared property? It seems to me he means positively geared property because he doesn’t want to include the “Taxman” into his calculations, because in order to include the Taxman implies that you have to continue to have an income to offset against?

Thanks

Kevin.

Profile photo of MiestarMiestar
    @miestar

Hi Kevin, I know exactly what you mean. I too am new to investing in investment properties and are feeling probably as confused as you right now, maybe moreso [:D]

My only advice right now, and its probably not helpful at all is … persist with all the reading and hopefull you get a few useful responses, I’m looking forward to reading them if you do.

[;)] Miestar

Profile photo of FWFW
    @fw

Hi Kevin