All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Claim on tax?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of DavidPriceDavidPrice
    @davidprice

I was told not to do any repairs to my new investment home until i’ve owned it for more than a year, or I wouldn’t be able to claim on a tax deduction on them. Is this right??

I’m in South Austrlia if that makes a different.

thanks
    David.

Profile photo of williwilli
    Participant
    @willi

David,
    I am currently in my final semester of a commerce degree from Deakin university, majoring in commercial law and thus have done a number of units relating to taxation law.
    And in my limited exposure (as in not yet actually practicing this) to this topic I can see no reason why you wouldn’t be able to deduct any repair expenses within your first year. The tax legislation simply states you can deduct any outgoing (expense) to the extent that it is incurred in gaining or producing your assessable income. I also don’t know of any specific provision of the act which specifically prevents you from deducting it. So to the best of my knowledge if you are currently receiving income form this investment property you should be legally allowed to claim these costs as deductions.

Another point is that in regard to a number of properties which my folks and I hold, we have made repairs within the first 12 months and deducted against assessable income.. maybe we have a very creative accountant..

Was their any specific reason given as to why couldn’t claim a tax deduction? As every circumstance is different. Also was it an accoutants advice?

Hope this helps.

Peter Williams

Profile photo of EKfourEKfour
    @ekfour