All Topics / Value Adding / How do assess the difference between builders

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of AALLIIAALLII
    Participant
    @aallii

I’m in the process of subdividing a block 1000 sqm into 5 units all attached. This is my first project and any advice regarding builders would be very much appreciated. Its going to be a large investment and I’m expecting it to cost about 10000 to 12000 per square.
    Given this is my first project, could anyone share some tips to look out for when determining which builder to select and some shock stories to look out for would be very helpful. What are some major things usually not included in their quotes that might be of a significant cost?
    Thanks in advance :)

Profile photo of Mick CMick C
    Participant
    @shape

I would consider hiring a development project manager to overlook the prices, builders, plans in fact the whole project.
    Most ppl choose not to hire a project manager for smaller-medium development because they think it cost too much….but i think it’s money well spent especially if you have not done this sort of work before- Cost: around $4000 for a standard 1 house build…and for a project of your size it will be around $12,000-15,000 depending on complexity and location.

1. they overlook the whole project for you from council approval to finish
    2. Make sure the price that’s been quoted is within standard and will try find another tradie to do the job faster, better and cheaper – end of the day they are paid a set fee already not a % of your build price
    3.Time, make sure everything is running on time and as planned.
    4. Less headace…

My parents are semi- professional land developers and have finished 3 development project…currently in the process of starting their 4th and they still use a development project manager to over look the project.

Regards
    Michael

Mick C | Shape Home Loans
    http://www.shapehomeloans.com.au/