All Topics / General Property / negative gearing

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of Paul22MPaul22M
    @paul22m

Hi there was wondering if someone could help me out as i am new to property investing, i bought a block of land a year ago for $200 000 and I am thinking about building on it and renting it out .. so my question is .. if i build on it I am going to need to borrow an extra $150 000 .. so that will take my loan to $350 000 , i am guessing going on what other rentals are getting in the same suburb that with a brand new 4×2 on my block i could fetch anywhere between $360-420 a week in rent, so lets say I rent it out for $400 and my rental income off the property is $1600 a month, but the interest on my loan for a month is say $2500 … so that would mean i would have to pay $900 a month outta my own pocket .. so does that mean that the $900 i am paying towards the interest I can claim on negative gearing?? Can i claim the whole lot back or only a small portion? Sorry if this sounds a stupid question but this will be my first IP so any help would be greatly appreciated

thanks!

Profile photo of Paul DobsonPaul Dobson
    Participant
    @pauldobson

Hi Paul

$400 per week = $1,733 per month,  If you use a property manager, lets say, less 8% = $1,594.  Less costs for insurance, council rates, water rates and maintenance = $???.  But because your question is about negative gearing, lets keep your figures as you mentioned.

Let's say your accountant works out that you have an annual loss on the IP of $10,800, i.e. $900 per month.  This $10,800 loss reduces your annual taxable income by $10,800.  Now depending what marginal tax rate you pay, your tax bill will be reduced by what you would normally pay on $10,800.  If, for example, your marginal tax rate is 40%, you would save $4,320 in tax payments, i.e. 40% of $10,800.

There is also a way of getting this tax saving each month but ask your accountant about this.  Good luck.