All Topics / Help Needed! / Understanding a Valuation and Rate Notice

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of JenDJenD
    Participant
    @jend

I am extremely new to this, so don’t laugh too hard!

I just received the Section 32 for a property we’ve been looking at, an apartment in Melbourne’s CBD, and there’s (1)Valuation & Rate Notice 2004-2005 and (2) Land Information Certificate included. I was hoping you may be able to help me interpret:

(1) Valuations (2004-2005)

NAV $14,000
    Site Value $31,300
    Capital Improved Value $280,000
    Effective Date 1/07/2004
    Valued as at Date 1/01/2004
    Rate in $ 5.0 cents

(2) City of Melbourne Land Information Certificate
    Date of Issue 18/08/2003
    Year Ending 30/06/2004
    Operation date of Valuation 01 July 2002
    Net Annual Value 13,500
    Site Value 27,000
    Capital Improved Value 270,000

The asking price of the property is $300,000+

OK, here’s my questions:
    What are these three values?
    Would the total value of the property be all of these added together, or just the capital improved value?
    Or is it just a value for the council for rates and has nothing to do with the real value of the property?

Any help in deciphering this would be great!

Cheers,
    Jen

Profile photo of woodsmanwoodsman
    @woodsman

JenD,

Site Value – market value of the land only
    Capital Improved Value – total market value of the land plus buildings and other improvements
    Net Annual Value – for residential dwellings, the NAV must be 5% of the CIV

*market value is the valuations made by the council as provided by registered valuers

The rate in 5.0 cents, is the council determined figure to apply against valuations. ie valuation x rate in the dollar. Obvioulsy each council will set this as part of their budgetary process.

The valuation date was made on 1/1/2004 and effective on the rates in FY05 (1/7/2004 issued rates notice)

Land Information Certificate