All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Home loan to investment loan

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of desmodesmo
    Participant
    @duke76

Hello

This has probably been addressed before but I’m new to this so please humour me.
    Here’s my question
    My partner and I both have mortgages of just over $100k on each of our houses in Perth. We are about to move into one house and looking at renting out the other. Can we use funds in the off set account of the house we are looking to rent to pay off the loan on the house we are going to live in, then claim the interest paid on the soon to be rented house to reduce tax paid by the owner of that house. The interest payment would have effectively gone up by the reduction of funds in the off set. Is this allowed.

Thanks very much for any advice offered

Cheers

John

Profile photo of BennyBenny
    @benny

Hi Desmo,

The interest payment would have effectively gone up by the reduction of funds in the off set. Is this allowed.

Your words sound to me like you are doing things absolutely correctly. An Offset account has your spare $$ sitting in it, and, being your money (Tax paid, etc) may be used for any purpose at all. The removal of those funds from the Offset account would have the mortgage payments increase back up to the original mortgage amount owed (and no more than that). i.e. you are not loading the soon-to-be-rented house’s mortgage with extra amounts, but simply reverting it to its original state.

If that is so, I would think you are ALL GOOD….. But hey, I am not an adviser (not accredited, etc) so do look for answers from others with a signature that shows their profession. My views should be treated as opinion, yet to be verified…. ;)

Benny

Profile photo of desmodesmo
    Participant
    @duke76

Thanks for your info, appreciated.

Profile photo of Corey BattCorey Batt
    Participant
    @cjaysa