All Topics / Help Needed! / To sell or to buy. What strategy to use?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of jcross02jcross02
    Participant
    @jcross02

Hi,

I’m new to investing in property and I was hoping to get some advice/opinions from people more experienced than myself. I bought my first house at the end of 2012 on the Gold Coast and have had some pleasing capital gains since then. I believe that I bought below market value at the time and have also improved the appearance of the property with a basic cosmetic renovation. I live there with my partner (no kids). My income is relatively low (60k) so the temptation is there to sell up in the next 6-12 months or alternatively purchase my first IP. If I use the strategy of selling soon and then looking to buy again when/if prices fall, due to the market cycle, am I losing valuable time in the market.

Alternatively, if I use the equity to purchase an IP (most likely on the Gold Coast and most likely negatively geared) I feel I would be buying in at the wrong end of the cycle and should the property prices decline it may take years to see any capital gain. I feel it’s a bit of a catch 22 where the strong growth gives you equity but I feel that a purchase now may not be wise.

Any thoughts from people who have been in this position before? If I sell, I wouldn’t like to see my cash slowly dwindle whilst I wait for the next ideal buying opportunity. On the other hand, I am worried about paying too much for an IP. Am I looking to much into into the property market cycle? Thanks for reading and any thoughts would be appreciated.

JC

Profile photo of crjcrj
    Participant
    @crj

Do you expect your house to drop in value? Bear in mind the high costs of entry and exit probably about 10%. What will you do if prices don’t fall?

Profile photo of jcross02jcross02
    Participant
    @jcross02

Hi Crj,