All Topics / Help Needed! / Build 2 houses and give half to the builder as a negotiated way of paying them.

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of theresajleachtheresajleach
    Participant
    @theresajleach

This idea was suggested to me by a friend. Has anybody done this type of thing?
    I am new to this concept so excuse my ignorance. Are there any issues that could arise
    that I would need to consider?

Profile photo of BennyBenny
    @benny

Hi Theresa,
    I haven’t done this – but, going by the tile, it sounds like you are effectively gifting the land to a builder in return for having them build two properties. There may be negotiated “give and take” $$-wise, but is that roughly what you are thinking of?

If so, the thought that struck me would be that YOUR house should be completed before the builder builds HIS. The last thing you would want is to have him go bust (or lose interest, or prioritise other work, etc) with your house un-built. I think it would be necessary to work with a Solicitor with this one.

A good thought, but don’t take half-measures with it…..

Benny

Profile photo of theresajleachtheresajleach
    Participant
    @theresajleach

Thanks for your reply Benny. Yes gifting is the new word for me and what I am doing.
    I will definitely work with a Solicitor if I go ahead with this item.
    I have mentioned it to my previous builder’s representative of ten years ago and she is looking into
    this proposal with her managers etc. I need to wait a bit longer as the land is part of my father’s estate
    and I am looking to buy out my brother and sister’s share of everything. I still have to see if
    it will satisfy my sister who is the Executor of the estate. Probate is in progress at the moment.
    I am currently looking at all my options. This one is still on my bucket list.

Profile photo of thecrestthecrest
    Participant
    @thecrest

Hi Theresa.