All Topics / Help Needed! / Deductions on Investment Property….Termite treatment, fence?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of salgsalg
    @salg

I am very new to all of this and have just signed a contract on my first property. It will be rented back by the owners for about 3 months until they move into their new place. After that I will live in the property for a while, but it will probably become a rental within a few years (especially if interest rates go up!) so I can pay it off faster.

The property has been completely renovated so nothing at all to do except that it is a corner block with no fence. I would like to put a fence up, mostly so that it will appeal to more tennants – what good is a 600sqm block without a fence for kids or pets? And also, I currently live in the same street and know that white ants/termites have been working their way through the houses. This house appears fine so far, but I would like to consider getting a chemical or barrier treatment done on it so it doesn't cause problems later.

I know I can't claim anything while I am living in it, but when rented – can I claim fencing the property as a tax deduction if it is so that it will suit a broader range of tennants? I doubt it, but wanted to check with people who might have some idea. And, can I get a termite treatment/barrier done and claim it as a deduction? Can you claim pest inspections while it is rented?

And lastly on the fencing issue – anyone know what the cheapest form of fencing is….I'm looking at about 60m at least, not counting replacing the old rusty fences between the neighbouring properties.

Thanks for your help!

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster